THE BEST PLACE TO SPEND YOUR TIME!

+7(911)119-02-87, +7(812)314-85-14

Contact Us


Lutheran Church in Koivisto. 1904.
Designed by Joseph Daniel Stenbäck.



Church 31-rank pipe organ which was moved to Finland during 1939 - 1943.



Entrance to the Church.
Picture of 2000.



Church in Koivisto, at present.
Picture of 2013.

Historical Background. Koivisto.

Swedish name Björkö means "birch islands". This was the name of the islands surrounding the strait.

Exactly in this place there were ancient trade routes between the West and the East.

Latitude 60,365 Longitude 28,579     

Lutheran Church in Koivisto

A church firstly built on Kirkkosaari island underwent a number of reconstructions and even fire.

Immediately after the fire in 1706 a small wooden church was built, but this time on the mainland. It is known that the “Resurrection of Christ” icon was bought for this church.

After the Great Northern War (1700-1721) a part of Eastern Finland was joined to the Russian Empire, Björkö-Koivisto settlement also became a part of it.

In 1763, a new church was built in Björkö-Koivisto under the typical plan – symmetric equiangular cross with elongated narrow transept and nave. This church design became a very popular solution in Finland.

In 1777, avoiding publicity, Gustav III, who had just ascended the throne in Sweden, made a visit to Catherine II under the name of the count of Gotland Björkö-Koivisto on his way to Saint-Petersburg. A service for the further safe journey of the “count” was held in the church. Later on, the king of Sweden presented exquisitely decorated communion ware to the parish of Koivisto.

The chalice and platter weighing 1.3 kg. were made of pure gold. The following inscription  (translated from Latin) was engraved on the chalice: “From Gustav III to the Church of Koivisto in memory of the safe arrival of Gotland count  on June 15, 1777”. 13 years later, in the midst of the war between Russia and Sweden, Gustav III again visited Koivisto. The second visit of the king was wrapped in mysteries and legends, one of which was associated with a happy rescue of the king from the detachment of the Russian cavalry. Dressed in the clothes of a priest, under the guise of a sexton, the king managed to get to the church, and then he was safely delivered to the Swedish ship.

Many other equally significant historical events  are  connected with the bay of Koivisto. So in 1884, Alexander III with his spouse Maria Feodorovna, their son and daughter stayed in Björkö-Koivisto on their way to Finland. The Russian Emperor presented a chandelier (it is now kept in the sacristy of the church in Alavus, Finland).

When a new church was constructed in 1904, the old church was dismantled and moved to Finland, and then to Vyborg, and subsequently it was burned down.

On  December 18, 1904 a new Lutheran Church accommodating 1800 parishioners was opened in Koivisto. Its architect Joseph Daniel Stenbäck educated in Germany became one of the pioneers of stone architecture in Finland.

In the autumn of 1905 Nicholas II with the Empress and family visited Koivisto. The Emperor attended the service in the new church. As an expression of gratitude and respect he donated the required amount of money for the purchase of an organ (which was moved to Finland during 1939 - 1943).

+7(911)119-02-87

+7(812)314-85-14

info@koivisto-pro.ru

 
© 2013-2017 All rights reserved «Koivisto Project»
© 2013-2017 Website by «2Birds»

Лучшее место для отдыха!

+7(911)119-02-87, +7(931)298-77-87

Контакты
RU EN


Кирха в Койвисто. 1904 год.
Архитектор - Иосиф Даниел Стенбек



Церковный 31 регистровый орган. Был вывезен в Финляндию во время войны 1939- 1943гг.



Вход в Кирху
Фото 2000гг.



Кирха в Койвисто.
Фото 2014 года.

Историческая справка. Койвисто.

Бьёрке-березовый, так в старину называли окружающие пролив острова.

Именно в этом месте проходили  древние торговые пути между западом и востоком.

Широта 60,365   Долгота 28,579      

Кирха в Койвисто

На острове Кирккосаари была впоследствии построена церковь, которая претерпела ряд перестроек и пожар.

Сразу после пожара в 1706 году была построена скромная деревянная кирха уже на материке. Известно, что для этой кирхи был приобретен образ «Воскресенье Христа». После Северной войны (1700-1721), часть восточной Финляндии присоединилась к Российской Империи, туда же вошло поселение Бьёрке‑Койвисто.

И уже в 1763 году в Бьёрке‑Койвисто строится новая кирха по типичному плану – симметричный равноугольный крест с удлиненным узким трансептом и нефом. Эта конструкция стала очень популярным решением при проектировании церквей в Финляндии.

В 1777 году, избегая огласки, с визитом к Екатерине II под именем графа Готландского Бьёрке‑Койвисто по пути в Санкт-Петербург посетил только что взошедший на престол в Швеции Густав III. В его честь в Кирхе отслужили молебен о дальнейшем благополучном путешествии «графа». Впоследствии король Швеции подарил изысканно украшенную церковную посуду для причастия приходу Койвисто.

Чаша и блюдо весом 1,3 кг. были выполнены из чистого золота. На чаше было выгравировано следующее, в переводе с латыни: «от Густава III Кирхе Койвисто в память о благополучном прибытии Готландского графа 15 июня 1777г.». Спустя 13 лет в разгар войны между Россией и Швецией Густав III вновь посетил Койвисто. Второе посещение короля окутано тайнами и легендами, одна из которых связана со счастливым спасением короля от кавалерийского отряда русских. Переодевшись в одежду священника, под видом церковного сторожа, король проник в Кирху, а уже оттуда благополучно был доставлен на шведский корабль.

С бухтой Койвисто связаны и другие, не менее значимые исторические события. Так в 1884 году Александр III с супругой Марией Федоровной, сыном и дочерью остановился в Бьёрке‑Койвисто по пути в Финляндию. В знак уважения Российским Императором была подарена люстра (сейчас она находится в ризнице Кирхи Алавус, Финляндия).

После постройки новой кирхи в 1904 году, старая кирха была разобрана и перевезена в Финляндию, а затем в Выборг, впоследствии – сгорела.

18 декабря 1904 года в г. Койвисто была торжественно открыта новая кирха на 1800 мест. Архитектор - Иосиф Даниел Стенбек, получивший образование в Германии. Этот архитектор стал одним из родоначальников каменной архитектуры в Финляндии.

Осенью 1905 года в  г. Койвисто пожаловал Николай II с императрицей и семьей. Император посетил новую кирху и присутствовал на службе. В знак благодарности и уважения он пожертвовал нужную сумму денег на приобретение органа (был вывезен в Финляндию во время войны 1939- 1943гг.)

© 2013-2017 все права принадлежат «Койвисто Проджект»
© 2013-2017 создание сайта «Мастерская Две Птицы»